Recognition for Service at the Rotary International Level
Peacebuilder Club
The La Jolla Golden Triangle Rotary Club is designated as a Peacebuilder Club by the Rotary  Action Group for Peace (RAGFP) of Rotary International.
Such recognition is based on achieving criteria for RAGFP’s  purpose; engaging, educating, and empowering Rotarians to achieve peace objectives; raising  Rotary’s profile as a community and world peacebuilder; and demonstrating support for Rotary  Peace Centers and Fellows. The LJGT Rotary Club Peace Committee oversees the club’s  Peacebuilder Club performance by managing peace projects that build and sustain positive  peace and coordinating with other club committees connecting peace through service.

Avenues of Service Citation
Districts can nominate a member who has performed exceptional service in all five Avenues of Service for an award from Rotary International.
  • Must be nominated by the District Governor
  • May be nominated at any time throughout the year
  • Awardee will be given a pin and crystal award
  • Award will be signed by the current President of Rotary International
The club president can nominate one member or appoint a committee to do so.
He/she will fill out an RI form available on the RI web site which will include the nominee’s activities and accomplishments in each of the five Avenues of Service throughout his/her membership years.
The club president will forward the completed application to the District Governor. Upon his/her approval, it will be submitted to Rotary International.
When approved, the award will then be sent to the District Governor for presentation.
Through recent years, less than 400 have been awarded annually among 1,200,000 Rotary members worldwide.
2017                   James Davies
2007                  Mary Griffin
2005-2006        Pam Russell
1998-1999        Rick Clark

Cliff Dochterman Scouting Award
The Cliff Dochterman Award is an honor available to recognize an individual Rotarian or Rotaractor who acts as a role model and renders distinguished and dedicated service to Scouting through active service, leadership or other exemplary contributions to the Scout Association of his or her home country; or, internationally, to any WOSM or WAGGGS recognized Scouting Association.
The Cliff Dochterman Award is named in honor of distinguished Rotarian, former RI President and dedicated Scouter Cliff Dochterman of Moraga, California, USA. A brief biographical sketch of Dr. Dochterman appears on the back page of this nomination package.
A nominee for the Dochterman Award must be a Rotarian in good standing, nominated by a local Rotary Club, by the Governor of a Rotary District or by the President of the IFSR. The nominee need not be a registered member of any scout association to receive the award. No more than one individual may be nominated by a local club per year (JULY 1-JUNE 30), except that where a Rotary Club continuously exceeds 50 members in any one year, one additional Rotarian or Rotaractor may be nominated by the club in that year (JULY 1-JUNE 30). If the club nominates a Rotaractor, membership in that individual’s Rotaract Club may be used to determine eligibility for a second nomination. Rotary District Governors may nominate one Rotarian each year (JULY 1-JUNE 30), in addition to nominations from the local clubs in his/her district. The IFSR President may nominate up to three Rotarians per year (JULY 1 –JUNE 30) to receive the award.
In keeping with the objectives and principles of both Rotary and Scouting to encourage character development, leadership, citizenship and personal growth for youth, this award is presented to a qualified Rotarian who has displayed distinguished service and outstanding dedication to the program of Scouting through:
1)  Contributions to the character development, leadership, citizenship and personal growth of members of the scouting association through programs, training or organization;
2)  Assisting Rotary clubs in forming scouting units;
3)  Exemplifying the 4-Way Test;
4)  Recruiting and training volunteer scouting leaders; and
5)  Strengthening the relationship between Rotary and Scouting.
2020-2021        Lori Bende

Service Above Self
Rotary’s highest honor recognizes Rotarians who demonstrate Rotary’s motto, Service Above Self, by volunteering their time and talents to help others. The award is internationally competitive, and is granted to no more than 150 Rotarians worldwide. Today, no more than one individual from each district, each year can earn the prestigious honor.
Only district governors, immediate past district governors, RI directors, and past RI directors may honor exemplary Rotarians by nominating them to be considered for this award. Nominations are usually due in October/November of each year. 
Since 1992, ten Rotary members from Rotary District 5340 have been recognized as recipients of the Service Above Self honor.
2019-2020        Pam Russell
2002-2003        Steve Brown